TheCivvie

Running naked along the internet

Ulaan2015: The 2017 half Marathon 

As many may recall, I did a solo trip from Clifden to Ulaanbaatar in 2015 for Temple Street Children’s Hospital. I left Ireland on May 1st and returned July 10th. The journey was around 25,000 miles and to be honest was amazing.

So, now I have decided to travel to the city of Perm, Irbit and Yekaterinburg in the Ural region of Russia. This will happen this coming May. I have simple plans, I want to be in Moscow for the May 9th celebrations which I missed in 2015.

And in Perm I will meet up with Irina Shevchenko, and hopefully we will travel around the region together. I just have to persuade her to get a motorcycle helmet first. You know you want to Irishka

The outbound trip is possibly via the U.K., channel tunnel to France, then up to Amsterdam. Then up to the Baltic states before entering Russia at the crossing I used in 2015. Then the next day to Moscow to meet my friends, Denis and Nadia.

Then down to Perm, a 2 day drive. And a rest break. Before I return. The return leg, I am doing as I did in 2015, not planned. That makes it more fun. I have decided that it will be either via Ukraine or over to Kazakhstan and Georgia. 

To be honest, Ukraine is my preferred route, as I want to visit the country and I also want to visit Auchwitz camp.

I will bring less than half what I did on the 2015 trip. However, I will bring my TomTom Bandit action cam, the various mounts and leads. Unlike 2015, when my GoPro played up,my TomTom Bandit will keep recording.

Keep an eye on here, the Ulaan 2015 Facebook page and I will also create a thread on boards.ie. the IDonate page again for Temple Street Children’s Hospital will be put up in the next day or so

January 15, 2017 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment